Search “Korean corn dog” in a U.S. or Canadian freezer aisle and you will find products that look nothing like the fairground version. The English label says “corn dog,” but the ingredient panels list mozzarella, cheddar, threadfin bream fishcake, potato pieces or glutinous rice flour, and in several cases no sausage at all. This guide is about shopping around that naming gap.
How this guide was made: we did not cook or taste these products. The comparison below uses manufacturer product pages, retailer listings and package directions collected in October 2026. Where we describe a product, we describe what its label or listing says, not how it eats. Prices and stock change by region, so treat every figure as a starting point.
The Short Answer: Which One to Look For
If you want one mozzarella-only product with no fish, look for the Pulmuone Potato and Mozzarella Corn Dogs or, in Canada, the Wooyang Potato Mozzarella Corn Dogs at Walmart Canada. If you want cheese plus fishcake, the Pulmuone Mozz, Cheddar and Fishcake version is the one listed with both cheddar and mozzarella. If you want a fish-paste filling that includes glutinous rice flour, Wang Mozzarella Cheese and Fish Sausage Corn Dogs is the one built that way. If you want a sweet coating rather than a salty one, Haitai Honey Butter Flavored Mozzarella Corn Dogs is the only honey butter product on this list.
Before You Buy: “Corn Dog” Does Not Always Mean Sausage
In the U.S., a corn dog is a hot dog dipped in cornmeal batter and fried on a stick. None of the six products here match that description exactly. Several list mozzarella as the entire filling, with no sausage in the ingredient list. Others combine mozzarella with cheddar or with fishcake made from threadfin bream, a white fish common in Korean processed foods. Some use glutinous rice flour in the fish paste. Read the ingredient panel, not just the English name on the front. If a household member avoids fish, that one habit matters most.
The Six Products at a Glance
| Product | Filling per listing | Coating per listing | Fish? | Noted price and pack |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pulmuone Potato and Mozzarella | Mozzarella only | Potato cubes | No | About US$11.99, 12.7 oz (Weee!) |
| Pulmuone Mozz, Cheddar and Fishcake | Mozzarella, cheddar, threadfin bream fish paste | Not specified in our notes | Yes | Price not captured |
| Pulmuone Breaded Mozzarella and Fish Cake | Mozzarella, threadfin bream fishcake | Crispy dough (breaded) | Yes | Price not captured |
| Wang Mozzarella Cheese and Fish Sausage | Mozzarella, fish paste with threadfin bream and glutinous rice flour | Not specified in our notes | Yes | About US$12.49, 5 wrapped pieces, about 400 g (Weee!) |
| Haitai Honey Butter Flavored Mozzarella | Mozzarella | Honey butter flavoring | Not listed in our notes | 11.3 oz (320 g) on H Mart; price not captured |
| Wooyang Potato Mozzarella | Mozzarella | Potato cubes | Not listed in our notes | About CAD$9.97, 400 g (Walmart Canada) |
Pulmuone Potato and Mozzarella Corn Dogs: Best Cheese-Only Pick by Label
Pulmuone’s product page lists a mozzarella core inside a coating of small potato cubes, with no sausage and no fishcake. Its air-fryer directions call for 375°F for seven minutes; microwave directions are on the package. Weee! listed it at roughly US$11.99 for 12.7 ounces, though pricing can shift by delivery region. Pulmuone’s own retailer list points to H Mart and Zion Market as additional U.S. options. Instacart Canada’s Pulmuone listings include it as a location-dependent item, so check your postal code before counting on it.
Pulmuone Mozz, Cheddar and Fishcake Corn Dogs: The Cheddar Version
The official ingredient list names mozzarella, cheddar and threadfin bream fish paste together. That makes it the only product here listed with cheddar. It is not suitable for anyone avoiding fish, because the fishcake is a core ingredient rather than a trace one. Package allergen information also flags milk, wheat, soy and egg. If you expect a conventional pork or beef hot dog, note that there is no meat sausage in the recipe.
Pulmuone Breaded Mozzarella and Fish Cake Corn Dogs: Fishcake Without Cheddar
Pulmuone describes this one as mozzarella and threadfin bream fishcake in a crispy dough, without cheddar. It sits between the potato-and-mozzarella product and the cheddar-fishcake product on the ingredient list. The package directions suggest microwaving first and then about five minutes in a 355°F air fryer, so it needs both appliances if you follow them as written.
Wang Mozzarella Cheese and Fish Sausage Corn Dogs: The Rice-Flour Fish Paste
Despite “fish sausage” in the name, the listing identifies mozzarella and a fish paste made with threadfin bream and glutinous rice flour, not a meat frank. The pack holds five individually wrapped pieces at roughly 400 grams, listed at about US$12.49 on Weee!. That price sits close to the Pulmuone fishcake products, so the deciding factor is the filling type rather than cost.
Haitai Honey Butter Flavored Mozzarella Corn Dogs: The Sweet Coating
This is the one product on the list built around a sweet flavoring instead of a salty one. The H Mart listing shows an 11.3-ounce (320 g) package. Readers who already like Korean honey butter snacks will recognize the flavor name; readers who expect a classic salty American corn dog should know the coating is described as honey butter flavored. We did not capture a price for this product, so check H Mart or Weee! directly.
Wooyang Potato Mozzarella Corn Dogs: The Canadian Option
Like the Pulmuone potato version, this is listed as a potato-cube coating around a mozzarella center, with no fishcake in the description we reviewed. Walmart Canada’s listing shows it sold by Walmart directly and available to add to cart at approximately CAD$9.97 for 400 grams. A direct Walmart listing is usually easier to rely on than marketplace-style inventory, though frozen stock can still vary by postal code and store.
Price per 100 Grams Where We Have the Numbers
| Product | Listed price | Pack weight | Price per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pulmuone Potato and Mozzarella | US$11.99 | 12.7 oz (about 360 g) | About US$3.33 |
| Wang Mozzarella Cheese and Fish Sausage | US$12.49 | about 400 g | About US$3.12 |
| Wooyang Potato Mozzarella | CAD$9.97 | 400 g | About CAD$2.49 |
The Canadian figure is in Canadian dollars and cannot be compared directly with the U.S. figures without an exchange rate. The two U.S. prices are close per 100 grams, and the per-piece cost depends on piece weight, which the listings we reviewed do not all state.
Air Fryer or Microwave: What the Packages Say
Package directions differ by brand, so treat them as separate instructions rather than one universal setting. Pulmuone’s potato-and-mozzarella package gives 375°F for seven minutes in an air fryer. Its breaded mozzarella-and-fishcake package suggests microwaving first and then about five minutes at 355°F. We did not capture directions for the other products, so read the box before cooking. As a general safety note, frozen products with a cheese center should be heated to the temperature printed on the package.
What to Check on the Package
- Filling type: mozzarella only, mozzarella with cheddar, or mozzarella with fishcake.
- Fish allergens: threadfin bream appears across several of these brands under different product names.
- Package weight, which ranges from 320 grams to 14.1 ounces across these six products.
- Piece count and whether pieces are individually wrapped, as with Wang’s five-piece pack.
- Country of origin: all six products listed here are made in South Korea.
- The cooking method printed on the actual box.
Editor’s Take
These six products differ mainly in filling and coating, and the listings give us those facts more reliably than anything else: which ones contain fish, which have cheddar, and which are potato-coated. We have no first-hand view of crunch, cheese stretch or sweetness, so this guide does not rank them on taste. The cleanest decision rule is the label: choose a mozzarella-only product if fish is a concern, a fishcake product if you want a savory fish filling, and check price per 100 grams when pack sizes differ. Prices and stock were noted in October 2026 and may have changed. This is our reading of the manufacturer and retailer listings cited below.
Sources
- Weee! · date unknown
- Pulmuone Foods USA · date unknown
- Weee! · date unknown
- Pulmuone Foods USA · date unknown
- Weee! · date unknown
- Pulmuone Foods USA · date unknown
- Weee! · date unknown
- Weee! · date unknown
- H Mart · date unknown
- Walmart Canada · date unknown
- Instacart Canada · date unknown